CBSE Subject

CBSE Subject

CBSE Subject: Right from the academic year 2021-22 onwards, the Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE) will use a new board exam schedule. CBSE board exams will be held twice a year, with Term 1 consisting of 90-minute MCQ tests in November-December and Term 2 consisting of 120-minute MCQ + subjective examinations in March-April. As there are many subjects in Classes 10 and 12, the CBSE has suggested that physical exams will not be conducted for each of the subjects. All of the subjects have been grouped into small and large categories. The main subjects are those that are taught in every CBSE school in India, whereas the minor courses are those that are taught in a smaller number of schools.

By next year, the CBSE Board test for Class X will have six subjects to study rather than five, as the board has revamped its evaluation methodology. Students in the Xth grade are currently required to study five subjects: mathematics, social science, two languages, and science. There are options for learners who want to take a specialized subject as a side study. From the following academic year onwards, a vocational course will be required.

Students would have thirteen options for the sixth course, including Introduction to Financial Markets, Food Preparation, Basic Farming, Banking and Insurance, Dynamics of Retailing, Marketing, and others. Tourism, Automobile Technology, Beauty and Wellness, and Healthcare are all topics covered in this course.

Know about CBSE Subjects

Math, Physics, Chemistry, Biology, English, History, Geography, and other disciplines are covered in CBSE classes. The subjects covered in CBSE classes vary per class. The CBSE subjects are presented here to assist students in more effective learning all of the courses. CBSE is well-known for its thorough test syllabus, well-structured study material, and CBSE Books. The CBSE syllabus was created by a group of highly qualified topic specialists. Each year, the syllabus is reviewed to ensure that students are up to date on updated knowledge while also sustaining a universal standard in all respects.


Physics is one of the most important disciplines for science students in grades 11 and 12. However, physics subjects are covered in every class from first to tenth. Environment and its philosophy are the subjects of this course. The physics course is structured in such a way that it covers all of the required topics for each session, allowing students to understand in a step-by-step approach.


Biology is a subject that educates students about natural science and assists to comprehend the mechanism of life. It focuses on genes, cells, creatures, etc. Biology is an important topic for children in grades 11 and 12 who want to consider a career in medicine. The biology curriculum for grades 1 through 12 is developed so that students study all of the theories and ideas of biology in a proper sequence.


Mathematics can be regarded as one of the most crucial subjects in students’ life. Math is one of the most fundamental CBSE courses, and it is covered in every class from 1 to 12. From counting to dividing, everyone has used math since they were a youngster. Most pupils dislike simple arithmetic and are terrified of it since they do not fully comprehend the principles. The CBSE maths syllabus is structured in such a way that students master every major topic from start to finish.


Chemistry is among the most fascinating CBSE subjects, and it is taught in grades 1 through 12. The subject instructs us about the structure, chemical bonds, and characteristics of various substances found in our environment. Researchers have created a thorough chemistry syllabus so that students can effectively study all of the subject’s fundamental concepts and principles.

What is the focus of CBSE subjects in a curriculum?

One can define CBSE as a learning experience that focuses on a student’s total growth by integrating academics with a variety of extracurricular activities that might help the student build new capabilities. CBSE subjects are designed in a way to include the following:

Bringing effective improvements in teaching and learning approaches to develop a student-friendly study pattern.

Exams and evaluation methods must be improved in order to produce fair outcomes.

Incorporate job-oriented inputs to encourage students to learn new skills.

Implementing various service training sessions and courses on a regular basis to keep teachers’ and officials’ instructional abilities up to date.

What are the objectives of the CBSE Board?

The objectives of the CBSE Board is mentioned here:

  • To establish examination circumstances and administer public examinations at the end of Class 10 and Class 12.
  • To issue qualifying certificates to talented students from associated schools.
  • Recommend and amend the examination course of teaching.
  • To meet the needs of the students whose parents are working in transferring jobs.
  • To develop a wide range of academic and non-academic information, skills, and talents that will aid students in making a seamless transition from elementary school to high school life.
  • To associate institutes with the goal of examining and raising the country’s educational requirements.


What are the subjects in CBSE 1?

The CBSE board for Class 1 includes three major courses. Mathematics, English, and Hindi are the three subjects. Physical Education, Arts & Crafts, EVS, and General Knowledge are among the four minor disciplines.

How many subjects are there in the 12th CBSE?

Physics, Chemistry, Mathematics, Biology, English, and Hindi are the six key disciplines in the CBSE 12th Curriculum. Students will be required to select one language topic of their preference.

Is CBSE better or ICSE?

The CBSE curriculum places great value on theoretical ideas, meanwhile, the ICSE syllabus sets a reliance on a hands-on learning approach. The CBSE curriculum emphasizes science and mathematics, whereas the ICSE curriculum emphasizes art, language, science, math, and humanities.

What are general subjects?

General studies prepare students for tertiary education, additional training, and employment. Extended subjects and Senior External Examination curriculum content are among them. General subjects may count for up to four credits toward the QCE.

How many subjects are thereafter 10th?

After tenth grade, students can choose between three streams: science, commerce, or the arts. These disciplines are vast and diverse with a wide range of sub-disciplines and divisions that students can pursue once they finish their education.

Robin Singh

Robin Singh is education professional tutor of NCERT. I have good knowledge of CBSE all subjects. Expert in maths, physics and chemistry. if students have any doubt about NCERT Solutions so contact us info@cbsenotes.in.

View all posts by Robin Singh →